Neal Bates Motorsport (NBM) is the leading team in the Australian Rally Championship (ARC) and has claimed nine ARC titles since 1993.
Led by four-time Australian Rally Champion, Neal Bates and long-serving co-driver Coral Taylor, NBM runs the latest specification Toyota Corolla Super 2000 rally cars.
Designed and built in-house by NBM's team of dedicated and experienced technicians, Bates and Taylor drove a Corolla S2000 to the 2008 ARC Drivers' Championship.
The title was the team's third drivers' crown in succession, following titles to former NBM pairing Simon and Sue Evans in 2006 and 2007.
NBM acted as the official Toyota Australia factory team for 19 seasons until the start of 2009 and helped the manufacturer claim three-straight ARC Manufacturers' Championships between 2006 and 2008.
During the 1990s, Bates and Taylor ran a succession of World Rally Championship (WRC)-spec Celica GT-Fours, before switching to the Corolla WRC in 1997.
Bates was the first person in the world to win a rally driving a Corolla WRC and as part of the car's development, he and Taylor ran a limited WRC schedule during 1997 in conjunction with Toyota Team Europe – Toyota's works rally team.
Bates and Taylor ran the Corolla WRC domestically until new regulations forced them out for a year in 2002 while they developed a new, Group N-spec Corolla.
In conjunction with Toyota Australia, the new Corolla Group N (Prototype) made its full-time debut in 2003 and following a few seasons of development, the car claimed two Drivers' Championships and helped Toyota Australia win two manufacturers' titles.
NBM developed the Corolla S2000 alongside the Corolla Group N (P), before the team switched to running two Corolla S2000s in 2008. Despite the new equipment, Bates claimed his fourth drivers' crown and Toyota its third manufacturers' title.
NBM's rally program is headed by technical director, Darryl Bush who has worked with Bates since the early 1980s.